Monday, December 5, 2011

FILCOLS members at the 11th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award

The LIKHAAN: UP Institute of Creative Writing and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family are pleased to announce the finalists for the 11th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award. Published between 2009 and 2010, the finalists are Bird Lands, River Nights and Other Melancholies by Jose Marte Abueg (University of the Philippines Press), And the Geek Shall Inherit the Earth by Carljoe Javier (Milflores Publishing), Butterfly People by Robin Lim (FILCOLS Member Anvil Publishing), Different Countries by Clarissa Militante (Anvil Publishing), and The Highest Hiding Place by Lawrence Ypil (FILCOLS member Ateneo de Manila University Press).

Award-winning novelist and FILCOLS Board of Trustees member Charlson Ong, poet D.M. Reyes and poet-critic J. Neil Garcia compose this year’s prestigious panel of judges.

The Madrigal-Gonzalez Award is administered by the UP ICW and is generously sponsored by Atty. Gizela Gonzalez-Montinola and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family. Each year, alternating between Filipino and English, the UP ICW selects from the list of first-time authors and their works and grants the cash prize of P50,000 and a plaque during Writers Night. Former winners include Sarge Lacuesta, Vincent Groyon, Rica Bolipata, Ellen Sicat, Ichi Batacan, Santos, Zosimo Quibilan, Adam David, Lualhati Abreu.
and FILCOLS members Luna Sicat Cleto and Kristian Cordero.

A forum with the finalists will take place on December 9, 2011 at the GT-Toyota Hall of Wisdom, UP Asian Center. The event begins at 5:00 PM, followed shortly by the awarding ceremonies and the Writers Night program.

Date and Time:
December 9, 2011 - 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Reposted with permission from

No comments:

Post a Comment