Tuesday, July 16, 2013

David T. K. Wong Creative Writing Fellowship

The David T. K. Wong Creative Writing Fellowship is a unique and generous annual award of £26,000 to enable a fiction writer who wants to write in English about the Far East to spend a year in the UK, at the University of East Anglia in Norwich.
The Fellowship is named for its sponsor Mr David Wong, a retired Hong Kong businessman, who has also been a teacher, journalist and senior civil servant, and is a writer of fiction. The Fellowship was launched in 1997 and the first Fellow appointed from 1st October 1998.
The official David T.K. Wong website contains information about David T.K.Wong and his writing; including downloadable content from his first novel The Evergreen Teahouse and the author reading extracts from his most recent novel The Embrace of Harlots. In this radio interview David Wong speaks about his life, his writing and what the David T K Wong Fellowship in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia in the UK is all about.

Fellowship Award 2013-14

We are delighted to announce that the 2013/14 David T. K. Wong Fellowship has been awarded to Sharlene Teo.

 Sharlene Teo
 was born in Singapore in 1987. She read Law at Warwick University where she was chief editor of the campus arts publication, and worked in business and trade publishing before coming to UEA. Sharlene is the recipient of the 2012/13 Booker Foundation Scholarship and was youngest winner of the 2005 SPH-NAC Golden Point Award. Her writing has appeared in places such as Esquire, Broadcast: New Warwick Writing, New Writing Net, Quarterly Literary Review Singapore and Eunoia Review.
She is currently working on a novel about a Pontianak, a mythical female cannibalistic entity, who awakens from hibernation and finds herself amidst the surreal, surgical-masked climate of the bird flu pandemic and Sumatran forest fire haze.

 Former David T.K. Wong Fellows

  • Ramesh Balakrishna Pillay (2012/13)
  • Presca Ahn (2011/12)
  • Chau (Cab) Tran (2010/11)
  • Hanh Hoang (2009/10)
  • Nam Le (2008/9)
  • Balli Jaswal (2007/8)
  • Mulaika Hijjas (2006/7)
  • Linh Dinh (2005/6)
  • Rattawut Lapcharoensap (2004/5)
  • Lakambini (Bing) Sitoy (2003/4)
  • Wendy Law-Yone (2002/3)
  • Liisa Laing (2001/2)
  • Simone Lazaroo (2000/1)
  • José Dalisay (1999/2000)
  • Po Wah Lam (1998/99)

No comments:

Post a Comment